Gyna Bivens, president of North Texas Lead and incumbent council member, filed to run again in District 5 on Fort Worth’s City Council. There are four candidates officially running for the seat to date — William McKinley Jackson, Gerardo Sanchez Corona, Bivens and Bob Willoughby. 

“I am proud to announce I filed for re-election to represent the people of District 5,” Bivens announced on Facebook. 

District 5 includes parts of southeast Fort Worth. 

Bivens has served on the Fort Worth City Council since 2013. She is mayor pro tem on the council. 

Municipal elections are coming up. Here are some key dates:

Jan. 18: Candidates began filing
Feb. 17: Last day for candidates to file
April 6: Last day to register to vote
April 24: Early voting begins 
May 2: Early voting ends 
May 6: Election Day

Candidates across all 11 districts will vie for a seat at the dias May 6. Of the nine incumbents, five have filed for reelection so far. 

Two districts — 10 and 11 — will be filled for the first time, after the city council passed a redistricting map to establish them. 

You can register to vote in the upcoming municipal election here.

Creative Commons License

Republish our articles for free, online or in print, by following our guidelines.

Avatar photo

Rachel BehrndtGovernment Accountability Reporter

Rachel Behrndt is a government accountability reporter for the Fort Worth Report in collaboration with KERA. She is a recent graduate of the University of Missouri where she majored in Journalism and Political...