Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Melissa Dunbar and reappointed Edwin Flores, Ph. D., James Mosley, Noe E. Perez, Michael Slaughter, and Jill Tate to the Texas School Safety Center Board for terms set to expire February 1, 2025. The Board reports to the Governor, the legislature, the State Board of Education, and the Texas Education Agency regarding school safety and security and advises the Center on its function, budget, and strategic planning initiatives.

Jill Tate of Colleyville is former small business owner and served as a project manager at Turley Associates, Inc. and as an assistant property manager at Trammell Crow Company. Additionally, she is a community member of the Grapevine Colleyville ISD Parent Teacher Associations, an ambassador for the nonprofit Patriot Paws, and volunteer for the Grapevine Relief and Community Exchange program. Tate received a Bachelor of Business Administration in Real Estate from Baylor University.

Michael Slaughter of Wylie is an assistant principal at Princeton High School in Princeton, Texas and an ordained minister. He is a member of the National Association of Secondary School Principals, Association of Texas Professional Educators, and the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals. Additionally, he volunteers with Habitat for Humanity and Wylie Youth Soccer Association. Slaughter received a Bachelor of Arts in Christian Studies from Union University, a Master of Education in Educational Technology Leadership from Lamar University, and is currently pursuing a Doctor of Philosophy in General Psychology from Grand Canyon University.

Creative Commons License

Noncommercial entities may republish our articles for free by following our guidelines. For commercial licensing, please email

Avatar photo

Press Release

A press release comes straight from a news source. It is not held to the same standards as a news story reported and written by a professional reporter, but it should be factual. The Fort Worth Report...