The inaugural class of medical students at the Anne Burnett Marion School of Medicine at Texas Christian University took the Hippocratic Oath at a Hooding Ceremony on May 12 at the Van Cliburn Concert Hall.

The Hippocratic Oath, which is traditionally taken by physicians, signified the completion of their M.D. program.

All 52 inaugural class graduates, known as the Dorman Scholars, took the oath and graduated the following day during the commencement ceremony at the Ed and Rae Schollmaier Arena.

Cristian ArguetaSoto is the community engagement journalist at the Fort Worth Report. Contact him by email or via Twitter. At the Fort Worth Report, news decisions are made independently of our board members and financial supporters. Read more about our editorial independence policy here.

Creative Commons License

Noncommercial entities may republish our articles for free by following our guidelines. For commercial licensing, please email

Avatar photo

Cristian ArguetaSotoCommunity Engagement Journalist

Cristian is a May 2021 graduate of Texas Christian University. At TCU, ArguetaSoto served as staff photographer at TCU360 and later as its visual editor, overseeing other photojournalists. A Fort Worth...